The “Book Nook” is In(n)!

I’m a day late and a dollar short, or something like that, or maybe just behind on my updates a wee bit, as the last one was posted mid-May, and here it is the first of June. It’s not that nothing has happened, but that I’ve been so busy, I haven’t taken the time to write. In a way, that is good, because it means I am making progress. Lots and lots of progress.  They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so I think I will be sharing thousands and thousands of words via pictures. (And there will be plenty of words too, because that’s just what I do, write. . . and write. . . and write.)  

So, where to start? That’s a good question, I’ve kind of been all over the place with what I’ve been working on, but perhaps we’ll go with the one that I was extremely excited about.  The signature piece of this whole venture, or at least, the part it’s named after.  The “book nook” is in(n).

As I mentioned in my last update, Scott,my soon-to-be son-in-law (in just sixteen more days now!) took on my vision, and created reality with the help of his brother, Chris. I had a door frame that fit fit perfectly under the stairs. The center was cut out (I suppose once upon a time there had been glass there. I picked the frame up at my local ReStore for $10.) In my mind, I could envision bookshelves built into the space — but I knew I didn’t have the skills to execute it. I explained to Scott what I wanted to do, and he drew a sketch.  Then we went to the store and got the supplies, and then they built it, painted it, and installed it.  I must admit, the first time I saw it, even before it was painted, I squealed with excitement.

Book Nook Installation 1Book Nook Installation 2

Once it was installed, of course I simply had to put some books on it to see how it will look. The door opens up to storage space under the stairs, or perhaps it just leads to Narnia or something like that. In any case, please send me a message and let me know what your favorite book is because my goal is to fill these shelves with the favorite books of those who helped create The Book Nook Inn.  Oh, and speaking of the name, thebooknookinn.com is mine.  Eventually there will be a webpage and everything!  One step at a time. I have to keep telling myself that.  One step at a time.

Other Progress

Floors. The seemingly never-ending project. But I am close, so very, very close, but I can’t quite pronounce them finished until I get the last bridges (I’m not sure that’s the correct term)  but it’s the piece of trim that bridges the different types of floors, from laminate to carpet or laminate to paper-bag floor. I know the pictures don’t look like much, but in order to anchor the track that the top pieces snaps into, I had to drill holes in the cement. It took me forever, and I got hot and sweaty doing it, but it didn’t drive me to the point of swearing (probably because the drill bit didn’t break despite the pounding it was taking) and the screws actually went in like they were supposed to. I am proud of this bit of work that I did myself.

Doorway bridges

The Secret Garden Room is getting very close to being ready for the furniture to be placed in it. The trim is back up, I have curtains, and I have the bedding, and it is perfect for the room! I love, love, love the way it is looking. When my daughter, Melanie is here for the wedding, she is going to add a scene from The Secret Garden to the flower wall (which she painted forever ago, when the room was my bedroom). I finally managed to take the stars down. It only took me a month to do it, so I still need to paint the ceiling where they were. Overall though, this room has turned out very much like I envisioned it. I am so excited to see the end result.

Secret Garden Room

The Sea Room —I’m still debating on the book reference, I was thinking strongly of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, but now I am not so certain. If you have ideas about that one, let me know — but back to the point, I decided to paint the room. And after bringing a dozen color samples home and putting them on the floor next to the bedding, I finally decided on a matching I like. I have to admit it was a rather strange feeling to paint over the striped wall. When my middle daughter, Katie, was a teenager, I told her she could paint it how she liked. She’s now twenty-seven, so that striped wall has been there for a long time. It’s gone now, and in its place, there is a lovely neutral toned paint job. I think I even managed to do the whole thing without getting any paint on the carpet. (It took me forever to prep for the painting, and I taped down the drop clothes just to be sure.)  

Sea Room 2

My other daughter, Melanie suggested that I use canvas for the curtains, reminiscent of the sails on a ship. I think it’s going to look fabulous. I plan to hand a fisherman’s net, and an old fashioned life-preserver if I can find one in the room. My oldest son, Jason, also gave me a huge aquarium (by huge I mean about four feet long) to put in the room. I think I will use it, but I probably won’t put fish in it, because knowing me, I would forget to feed them, and they would die. (I struggle to keep houseplants alive too, but I did manage to keep all of my children fed!) I borrowed my son’s trunk of memorabilia (which he had left under the stairs) to get a feel for what the wall will look like. I also made my kids help me drag in the California king-size mattress to figure out the best arrangement for the room, and to test the colors of the quilt and such with the paint.  We’re getting closer!

Sea Room

I did leave one wall the original blue, but that is going to be a seascape of the Trinidad point in California where my youngest daughter, Jaimie, lives. She just got back to Utah today! And she’s going to paint it. It’s a very good thing I have such talented children.  I still can’t paint without getting paint all over me; it’s just a fact of life. Kelly could paint an entire room and not drip, or smudge, or smear. Not me.

And last but not least,  the bathroom. It is coming along. I’ve been so busy working on the other projects that this one is kind of at a standstill.  But, the boys came over, and we did get the toilet reseated. I was glad to have their help, I’ve actually done it by myself before, and it is rather difficult to do alone. This time I stayed out of the way, though I was itching to tell them how to do it. I am hoping to finish up the toilet (it still needs to have silicon around the base), put the sink back in place, and clean up the mess. I found some wonderful butterfly hooks I want to get for the room, that will go well with the other chrome. A couple of my grandkids (affectionately known as Thing 1 and Thing 2 online) were with me the day I picked up the chrome towel holder; it was a tight squeeze to fit both it and the kids in the car, but we managed. My goal is to have the bathroom put back together soon.

Bathroom

And there you have it.  The Book Nook Inn update. My children have been wonderful. They have been helping me all along the way. I remain grateful for the wonderful support I have received from so many.  I have taken care with the $$$ that has been entrusted to me for this project, and I’ve stretched it as far as I can; I would be grateful for any additional donations as we come into the home stretch of getting these three rooms and hallway ready for guests. To donate, please visit: gofund.me/5myk2tdd; if you can’t donate but would still like to help, please share my blog and the GoFundMe campaign.  Thank you!  

 

Please feel free to leave a comment.

