NaNoWriMo and Other Thoughts about Writing

 

Antique roll-top desk for writing

 

I’ve attempted NaNoWriMo – exactly once — and the attempt was a complete failure. Well, maybe not a complete failure, because I did learn some things from the experience, mainly, that writing fiction is not (currently) my strong suit; something I had an inkling of, but attempting to actually do it, quite proved the point. (I just have to go back and look at my early fiction-writing attempts to remind myself. They include three paragraph descriptions of nail polish and lipstick, as well as an attempt at irony by calling the fat character in my story Slim — be kind, my early attempts were written when I was in junior high school.) But still, I struggle with fiction. My comfort zone is found in creative non-fiction writing. A case in point, for an assignment in a university creative writing class, we were to write a Flash Fiction piece.  I completed the assignment, only realizing after it was finished, that it was in fact based on a real-life experience. It was a great flash fiction piece, except it wasn’t fiction. Then the story evolved into a poem (still 55 words), which you can read here: In Fifty-Five Words.

 

In 55 Words photo
The idea for In 55 Words was taken from the experience my son and husband had playing opposite each other in a stage version of Dead Poets Society and its surprising aftermath.

 

This non-ability to create fiction is perhaps also the reason I am terrible at the break-the-ice game, Two Truths and a Lie. I can never come up with a lie that people will believe! Trust me, I tried, multiple times at a family party recently, and at work parties too. But back to the point. This year I plan to do a modified version of NaNoWriMo, my modification being that I will work on a non-fiction book to get it finished this month. I’ve been working on it for years, it’s about my experience of being a widow. Here are a few essays from what will one day be the complete book: Going Out on a Limb: Into the Breach, My First Social Forays and On Being Alone: In the Still of the Night .

Sometimes I wonder if it’s good enough to put in a book, but I suppose every writer thinks that way once in awhile, right?  Perhaps I’ll even add updates to this blog to let you all know how it’s going. Perhaps one day I will attempt fiction again, but that time is not now.

For inspiration, I’ve pulled together, some words of advice from writers who have done the whole NaNoWriMo thing, perhaps their words will inspire and encourage you, too.

PS: Here’s a link to the National Novel Writing Month website just in case you want to know more about doing it yourself.

Words of Wisdom from Writers

From Brian Jacques:The advice I continually give to young writers is this “Learn to paint pictures with words.” Not just once upon a time, but… In the long secret dust of ages, beneath a blue forgotten sky, where trade winds caress the sun bleached shores of unknown realms… See, as much as there are words in poetry, there is a poetry in words. Use it, stay faithful to the path you have set your heart upon and follow it.”

From Gennifer Albin: “The real secret is that anyone can write a book. There’s no initiation ceremony. No dues to pay. You don’t need a special degree from a fancy school. Writing is for everyone, and this is your chance to scrawl your name across the page. By month’s end, you’ll have done that which many dream of, but never accomplish.”

From Garth Nix: “Rereading and revision works best after rest. I like to let chapters sit for at least a day or two before I go back to re-read and revise them. A little bit of space is helpful in looking at the work with fresh eyes and mind. This can work well for getting a rhythm of writing too, where you spend part of your writing time re-reading and revising a previous chapter and then go on to write new material. The re-reading and revising helps you get back into the ‘world’ of the book and the new writing helps you feel that you’re making forward progress, not just revising the old.”

From Kristin Cashore: “Breathe. Be kind to yourself. Don’t panic. Take risks. Make messes. Decide every day that in your writing toolbox, next to the fear and self-doubt, you are also going to keep at least one tiny little seed of faith. That’s all you need to keep going—one mustard seed. Keep tight hold on that faith, and keep writing.”

From Cathrynne Valente: “Write something true. Write something frightening. Write something close to the bone. You are on this planet to tell the story of what you saw here. What you heard. What you felt. What you learned. Any effort spent in that pursuit cannot be wasted. Any way that you can tell that story more truly, more vividly, more you-ly, is the right way.”

Please feel free to leave a comment.